Norman Doray to release his debut solo mixed compilation Strictly Ibiza To Amsterdam

Written by Michael

September 7, 2011 2:42 pm

We’re big fans of Strictly releases, especially following Avicii’s foray into the brand. A follow up compilation, Strictly Ibiza to Amsterdam is comprised of two discs – “Day” and “Night” which reflect the different sides of house DJ Norman Doray. “Day” is a tribute to Norman’s funk and disco roots and works in his brand new single ‘Kalifornia’ produced specially for this compilation with classics such as Phunkie Souls – ‘Tha Music,’ one of his all time personal favourites.

Doray’s summer has been one crammed full of top notch productions and storming gigs in the world’s best venues. Amongst regular trips to Ibiza to rock Ushuaia, Erick Morillo’s Subliminal Invasion and Masquerade Motel with Swedish House Mafia at Pacha, Norman also managed to co-produce the huge summer hit ‘Chase the Sun’ with David Tort, spending a huge 8 weeks in Beatport’s Top 10 chart.

“I really wanted to go back to my roots of funk and disco. I wanted to do something like Junior Jack or Kid Crème, who have always been my inspiration… I love progressive house and really clubbish tracks but I think it’s also important to show people your other face as a producer” – Norman Doray.

It’ll be interesting to see how this stacks up to other Strictly compilations, which in recent times have only got better and better. Doray will surely be hoping his album will project his already rising profile into the limelight.

Norman Doray has a busy fall lined up with slots on Masquerade Motel and F*** I’m Famous in Ibiza and select US dates in mid-September.

Strictly Ibiza To Amsterdam is released October 11th. 


CD1 – “Day”

1 – Todd Terry All Stars feat. Kenny Dope, DJ Sneak, Terry Hunter & Tara McDonald – ‘Get Down’ (Kenny Dope Original)

2 – Daniel Bovie & Roy Rox feat. Nelson – ‘Love Me’ (ATFC’s Soultek Vocal)

3 – Huggy & Dean Newton – ‘Soul Roots’ (Antranig Remix)

4 – Tristan Garner – ‘Jazz Me Up’ (Original Gangster Dub)

5 – Sandy Rivera & Yasmeen – ‘Love’ (Daddy’s Groove)

6 – Norman Doray – ‘Kalifornia’ (Original)

7 – Phunkie Souls – ‘Tha Music’ (Floats Your Cares Away)

8 – Jose Nunez – ‘Dance Again’ (Jose’s Subliminal Mix)

9 – Jose Nunez & Antranig – ‘Are You Ready’ (Original Mix)

10 – Sharam Jey pres. Soundz Fresh – ‘Let’s Get It On’ (Sebastien Drums & Rob Adens)

11 – Lil’ Mo’ Yin Yang – ‘Reach’ (Yin Yang Dub)

12 – Jose Nunez feat. Tania – ‘Bilingual’ (Jose Nunez 2010 Subliminal Mix)

13 – Norman Doray & Tristan Garner feat. Errol Reid  / Ultra Naté – ‘Last Forever / Free’ (Norman’s Ibiza to Amsterdam Edit)

CD2 – “Night” 

1 – Ministers De-La-Funk feat. Jocelyn Brown   ‘Believe’ (Ministers De-La-Funk vs Antoine Clamaran & Sandy Vee)

2 – DLG vs Erick Morillo – ‘Where Are You Now’ (Demo Mix)

3 – Deniz Koyu  – ‘Tung!’ (Original Mix)

4 – Eddie Thoneick & Erick Morillo feat. Shena – ‘Nothing Better’ (Muzzaik Remix)

5 – Fish Go Deep & Tracey K – ‘The Cure & The Cause’ (The Cube Guys Vocal Mix)

6 – Antranig – ‘Shake That Ass’ (Original)

7 – Markus Binapfl & Erick Morillo feat. Fiora Cutler – ‘Alive’ (Denis the Menace Club Mix)

8 – John Dahlbäck feat. Terri B – ‘Flirt’ (Original Extended Mix)

9 – Erick Morillo & Eddie Thoneick feat. Shawnee Taylor – ‘Stronger’ (Stronger Club Mix)

10 – Leventina  – ‘Nightshift’ (Nikola & Groovenatics Remix)

11 – Sebjak & Richard Grey – ‘Pump Up The Volume’ (Original mix)

12 – Dirty South & Thomas Gold feat. Kate Elsworth – ‘Alive’ (Original Mix)

13 – Norman Doray – ‘Kalifornia’ (David Tort Remix)

14 – Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano – ‘Tribeca’ / David Penn & Rober Gaez – ‘What Is

House?’ (Norman’s Ibiza to Amsterdam Edit)



Sep 10 Ministry Of Sound                            London, United Kingdom

Sep 12 Masquerade Motel @ Pacha       Ibiza, Spain

Sep 15 Arkadia                                             Miami Beach, FL

Sep 16 Voyeur                                              San Diego, CA

Sep 17 Beta                                                   Denver, CO

Sep 18 XS Nightclub                                     Las Vegas, NV

Sep 19 Monday Social                                Hollywood, CA

Sep 22 F*** I’m Famous @ Pacha               Ibiza, Spain

Oct 13 CDLC                                                 Barcelona, Spain

Oct 15 Der Rote Salon                                Hanover, Germany

Categorised in:

Latest Reviews


House 4Kenzo Recordings 3

HIIO Feat. Terri B! – Something About You

February 28, 2013

South American duo HIIO (pronounced H2O) have arrived in 2013 with their attempt at creating a classic house tune. There’s definitely some classic house vibes here in the synths, the Planet Perfecto influence is pretty obvious. But this track is much slower than anything Planet Perfecto ever put out, and as a result it’s not… View Article


Trance Armada 4

Arty, Nadia Ali & BT – Must Be The Love (Official Music Video)

February 24, 2013

BT is a legend of Trance production, Nadia Ali is a legend of Trance vocals. Any team up between these two is bound to be good, but when you throw in relative newcomer but excellent producer Arty into the mix as well, are we witnessing collaborative genius or are too many cooks spoiling the broth?… View Article


House Spinnin Shit Records 1

Kirsty – Hands High (Afrojack Radio Edit)

February 23, 2013

Who is Kirsty? We don’t know either, but this looks like her attempt to crack the commercial dance scene and she’s enlisted the help of Afrojack who provides remix duties. Apparently Sander Van Doorn said “supporting!” and David Guetta said “huge!” Although we’d question how much thought they gave to their answers when questioned. The… View Article