In Search Of Sunrise 8 – South Africa – Compiled & Remixed by Richard Durand

Written by Maximus Aurelius

April 15, 2010 6:20 pm

With Tiesto departed, the question looming over the epic ISOS compilation series was, Who would be taking over the reins? Having departed from Black Hole Recordings last year, Tiesto would no longer continue with the series and Black Hole have had the mammoth task of filling his boots. After months of intense speculation, the man releasing the next ISOS is a DJ who Tiesto himself tipped for great things.

Richard Durand has spent the last 4 years running on trance music’s fast-track. From the early days of his ‘Lethal Industry’ & ’Flight 643’ rebuilds, he has moved to become one of the most consistently dependable producers on the scene; crafting and shaping his own model sound & style. Parallel to that, his spinning career has graduated from that of ‘next big thing’ to that of headlining, all-club-conquering DJ – a passage that now sees him ranked as one of the 50 hottest spinners on the planet. Now, in this almost ceremonial passing of the baton, Richard has accepted the role as ‘In Search of Sunrise’s new master and commander.

So what should one expect from this new era? In some manners, ISOS will remain much the same. Under Richard Durands leadership, ISOS will remain committed to uncovering the most cutting-edge trance tracks from the furthest corners of the planet (far in advance of their release dates). However, steering ISOS into a new decade, the album’s sound-approach though (naturally enough) will be all Durand. Richard’s free-thinking approach to electronic dance music – from the melodic trance plains right across the span to the bigger & bolder tech-side – will all be hard-coded into the twin discs’ DNA.

As with every album in the series, this edition’s roots grew in a specific country. Richard has played many, many of them over the last 12 months. The choice as to where to seek his first ‘Sunrise’ was – comparatively speaking – an easy one though. He goes on to explain: “I actually saw South Africa first from a vacation point of view; that, in itself, is quite unusual for an international DJ. When I returned I spoke to my agent, told him what an incredible place it was and how much I’d like to experience the country from a clubbing side. Gigs were arranged and gigs were played and – simply put – I was blown away for a second time. The scene there is so fresh so open-minded and still is rapidly expanding; it almost made the choice for me!”

Look out for our review of ISOS 8 in a couple of weeks time.



Disc 1.

01. First State – My Sanctuary
02. George Acosta featuring Fisher – Beautiful
03. Venaccio & Daigon – The Violet Hour
04. Kostya Veter featuring Madelin Zero – Envy
05. Ad Brown and Matt Lange featuring Kerry Leva – As The Rain Falls
06. Craving – Never Alone
07. Zoo Brazil featuring Rasmus Kellerman – There Is Hope
08. Ben Preston – Pillars Of The Earth
09. San vs. Wendel Kos – Kiss Of Life (Ibiza Sunrise Mix)
10. Jorg Zimmer – Sydney
11. Avis Vox – Introspection Attempts (Moonbeam Remix)
12. Tom Cloud – The Darkest Star
13. Richard Durand – For No Reason

Disc 2.

01. Michael Badal, Zya & Teddy C – Deltree
02. Ad Brown featuring Renee Six – Something For The Pain
03. Jason van Wyk – September Rain
04. San featuring Therese – Kissed By The Sun (S1dechain Remix)
05. Daniel Wanrooy – Ocean Terrace
06. BT – The Emergency
08. Richard Durand & JES – N.Y.C.
09. Hodel & Sunstate – Distant Motion (Aurosonic Remix)
10. Beltek – Par
11. Bartlett Bros. vs. Mazza – Satellite Of Love (Fabio XB Rework Dub)
12.  – We.are
13. DJ Observer & Daniel Heatcliff featuring Hannah Ray – With Me (Original Vocal Mix)

Categorised in:

Latest Reviews


House 4Kenzo Recordings 3

HIIO Feat. Terri B! – Something About You

February 28, 2013

South American duo HIIO (pronounced H2O) have arrived in 2013 with their attempt at creating a classic house tune. There’s definitely some classic house vibes here in the synths, the Planet Perfecto influence is pretty obvious. But this track is much slower than anything Planet Perfecto ever put out, and as a result it’s not… View Article


Trance Armada 4

Arty, Nadia Ali & BT – Must Be The Love (Official Music Video)

February 24, 2013

BT is a legend of Trance production, Nadia Ali is a legend of Trance vocals. Any team up between these two is bound to be good, but when you throw in relative newcomer but excellent producer Arty into the mix as well, are we witnessing collaborative genius or are too many cooks spoiling the broth?… View Article


House Spinnin Shit Records 1

Kirsty – Hands High (Afrojack Radio Edit)

February 23, 2013

Who is Kirsty? We don’t know either, but this looks like her attempt to crack the commercial dance scene and she’s enlisted the help of Afrojack who provides remix duties. Apparently Sander Van Doorn said “supporting!” and David Guetta said “huge!” Although we’d question how much thought they gave to their answers when questioned. The… View Article